An alternative Valentine’s Day

This year Valentine’s Day has a different meaning for me. Not because I got swept off my feet recently, or got dumped. Things are pretty much the same as ever in that department. And I haven’t become the proprietor of a greeting card shop, nor a florists.

No, this year Valentine’s Day is the first birthday of the first babies that I ever “delivered”. It’s crazy that was a year ago. Sometimes, because the change of career was such a U-turn in terms of lifestyle and salary, it gets hard to remember why I ever made the move. And going back to being a complete beginner at a new job was really hard.

I think at times everyone gets at this stage, of not being able to see the light at the end of the tunnel. It seems that, when I look at my circle of friends, people are always looking for a new apartment, a new relationship, a new job. Aiming for something is one thing, but following it through is exhausting most of the time. There is no instant gratification outside of the E! Entertainment channel.

To continue slogging away for something, occasionally you need to remind yourself of the underlying reasons of why you are beating yourself up for it. This Valentine’s Day, and every Valentine’s Day from now on regardless of boys, will always be in part about my first bubbas and their wonderful, beautiful mothers. I hope that in twenty years time, I’ll be able to celebrate their 21st with a glass of bubbly and remember how bloody lucky I was to be there on their very first birthday of all, the big zero.

So happy Valentine’s Day to you, however you spend it. And happy birthday to my bubbas. I hope you’re now able to eat cake.

Queenofthenightbus xx

Leave a Reply

