Happy July 4th!

You don’t have to be American to celebrate Independence Day. Which is good because I’m holding a July 4th picnic this evening near Tower Bridge. There will be a blues band playing at the Scoop too.  However this is nothing compared to my parents, the lucky devils, who have THE prime spot for firework viewing in New York City and will get to see the amazing display from the barges in the Hudson. So jel.

DSCF1646

But back to me and my more low-key celebrations. Here is the Star Spangled Banner Cake I made today, using Mary Berry’s sponge recipe topped with whipped cream, cherries and blueberries.

July 4th -cake

Al has made amazing Buffalo wings with very authentic tasting blue cheese sauce – sooooo good.  And of course, there has to be pulled pork and bread buns. I used the Simon Rimmer version, I love him.

I also have a ton of red, white and blue plates, cups and napkins which I stocked up on at Poundland last night (so classy).

Have a very happy July 4th people! From sea to shining sea!

Queen of the Night Bus xxxx

Leave a Reply

